That smell

It’s weird how some smells can flip a switch in the brain and elicit certain reactions from people. Typically it’s food, or maybe spices, or perfumes. Everyone has favorites unique to them, myself included.

One of my favorites is the smell of denim after cutting a few acres of grass on a riding mower. It’s a weird feeling that I think only a few people truly enjoy, but even my mother thinks the same way as I do. On a hot day, full speed, looking back to see how well you’ve positioned your rows… I don’t think I can fully describe how good it feels to look out at a big stretch of land and appreciate how perfectly trim it is. To get a whiff of your own clothes afterwards is kinda like a justification of a job done good. As if the mix of grass juice, gasoline, and sweat wafts into your nose and reminds you that you did good.

This one I find to be less strange, but the smell of people gets me. I think showers are great and all because it’ll wash off all of the different scents that cling to your skin throughout the day, which then gives you a chance to exude your own natural smell. I think this love for people-ly smells stems from my dislike of colognes and perfumes (I have a sensitive nose and allergies). I figure if pheromones are the body’s way of speaking, why cover it up? Not to say that a face full of wet armpit is enjoyable, but my closest friends are the same way. My main wingman and I came upon this revelation one day when we had gone to town with a few girl friends. One of the prettier ones was a bit of hippy, and her smell had caught the attention of both of us. He and I had a pretty interesting conversation after that…

I can’t think of anyone who doesn’t like the smell of dog kibble. Strange? Not at all I say. Any dog could care less about the smell of their dinner, and so kibble companies design foods for the ones buying the product - the human. Due to years of extremely selective breeding procedures, very few breeds could survive in the wild (I’m looking at you pugoodlehuahuaranians). Think about it, what toy sized lapdog could hunt? What poor, forsaken critter would yield chunky bits of artificially dyed kibble? Dog food is instead made and marketed for people, and that means manufacturing a smell people will like too.

There are quite a few other olfactory kinks that I have (engine grease, burnt meat, burning pine wood, pickle juice, seagrape on a particularly dry day). I’m sure I’m not the only one.

This is my very first post on my very first blog. I started this blog in order to put into form some of the thoughts that I have throughout the day. I’ve been living in a small town out in central Kentucky for some time and I’ve begun to go insane from boredom, since no one shares the same ideals and interests with me.

 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

I try to sleep

Or maybe I try to keep myself awake. It seems like I’m tired every single day. It’s been like this for a long time, being so drained. I’d like to think of myself as strong, like most young men would, but I feel worn. I have moments of... Continue →